Brightlands_MCBA_Uitreiking_200121_0241 nieuwsbrief.jpg

Follow the winner 

Follow the winner Annual network meeting
Wednesday September 29, 2021



On Wednesday 29 September, the Follow the Winner Annual network meeting will take place, the relationship event of the Marc Cornelissen Brightlands Award.


Location: Brightlands Smart Services Campus, Smedestraat 2 in Heerlen.

Time: 16.00-18.00 hrs.


It is the first meeting with the community of sustainability pioneers, partners and friends of the Marc Cornelissen Brightlands Award Foundation. It is particularly pleasant that we can meet live now, referred to the Covid-19 measures.


Follow the Winner is the title of our network meeting that we as a foundation will organize annually. In it we follow winners or finalists of the Marc Cornelissen Brightlands Award and one of them will take us along in the progress of their sustainability mission.


On September 29, Panos Kouros, winner of the 2021 award, will unfold his development and expedition in more detail. We also briefly look back on the presentation of the award at the beginning of this year and look forward to a next edition in 2022.


One thing is obvious: we need many sustainability pioneers to turn the tide of climate change. This summer, we have been confronted with negative effects of the climate change all over the world. And that is precisely what sustainability pioneer Marc Cornelissen has been fighting against for years. Data science and artificial intelligence will offer new perspectives in this. The Brightlands Smart Service Campus is the place where this expertise has been brought together in the region. Astrid Boeijen, CEO will take us through the opportunities data offer turning our sustainability challenge and how the Brightlands campus in Heerlen can contribute.


Besides of the speakers, there will be enough space to catch up informally.



16:00 hrs. Reception

16:15 hrs 

 Welcome - Maria van der Hoeven, chair MCBA foundation

 5 years Brightlands Smart Services Campus - Astrid Boeijen

 Follow the Winner of 2021- Panos Kouris

 On our way to the award 2022- Maria van der Hoeven

 17.15 hrs drinks

18:00 closing



Via this link until 25 September (max two people).

Prior to the event, you will receive a confirmation and the Covid-19 measures applicable to this event at that time.

More information via info via